This diagram shows what happens for UK customers. It’s simple – EVERYTHING IS IN THE UK! Main servers, backup servers. So your data doesn’t leave the UK unless you want it to.
- When Bob sends a safedrop, the files are temporarily uploaded to our UK servers.
- He sends the safedrop link (or URL for geeks) to Sam.
- Sam clicks the link, and collects the file from our UK server.
- The file will be removed irrevocably from our servers once the safedrop expires (or immediately, if self destruct is turned on).
- On our end, the files never leave the UK (Of course you can choose to send them outside the UK. but that’s your decision*).
*It’s worth mentioning that you can turn on view only security. That way the files never leave our servers, but the recipient can view encrypted bits of the document (pages) in a web browser.