After logging in for the first time and changing your password, you will be brought to the Compose page. You can use this page to send your safedrops. (See below)
1. Security – There are two option is this drop down menu: ‘secure link’ and ‘email verification’. Secure link – the recipient receives an email with a link to download the drop. Email verification – the recipient must first click on a token link that is sent to their email address to verify their identity. This is not necessary however, it does add an extra layer of security.
2. Expiry – The expiry of the safedrop can range from 1 hour to 3 months. You can change this depending on how long you would like the drop to be active i.e. how long you want the files to be available to download. When the safedrop expires, the recipient or anyone with the secure link will no longer be able to access the drop or the files within and the file will be deleted from our server within 2 minutes of the expiry time.
3. Email address – This is the field where you enter the email address of the safedrop recipient/s.To send the safedrop to more than one recipient, enter the first recipient’s email address and then press enter. You can then enter the emails of the other recipients pressing enter at the end of each address. (If you’re sending a drop as a Secure link to multiple recipients, make sure you do not have self destruct enabled otherwise only 1 of the recipients will be able to access the file)
4. Self destruct – This controls the number of downloads per file. If this box is ticked, the file/s sent will self destruct after 1 download; the file/’s will no longer be available to download. If the box is left clear, there will be no download limit for the file/’s and they will be available to download until the safedrop expires or the sender expires the drop manually.
5. Encrypt message – Leaving this box clear displays the message to the recipient in the safedrop email that is sent. Ticking this box does not display the message in the safedrop and the recipient has to click on the link to view the message in the drop.
6. Adding files to your safedrop – To add files to your safedrop, you can either drag and drop files from folders or your desktop, straight into the greyed out box that contains ‘Drag and drop your files here’ or click on the link just below to open a folder browsing window where you can select the files you wish to add.
After you have filled in all the necessary fields, and are ready to send the drop, you can either click Send or Get a link. Clicking Send will send the recipient/s and email with the link to collect the drop. Clicking Get a link will open a pop up window with the link needed to access the drop, you can then copy this link and send it to anyone you like and they will then be able to access the files.
To view a list of all your current safedrops, click on the ‘Track Safedrops’ button along the top bar.
As you can see above, each of your user’s safedrops will be shown here. You can see the date sent, the subject of the safedrop, the recipient email addresses and the files sent in the drop.
Clicking the ‘i‘ icon on the right hand side of the table will display an audit trail of the selected safedrop.
From here, you can see the time and date the drop was sent and the recipient details including when they downloaded the file and what their IP was.
Clicking the ‘x‘ icon to the right of a safedrop will open a pop up confirmation window (see below) and clicking ‘Yes’ will delete the safedrop, regardless of its expiry time.
This means that even if the recipients still have a link, they will not be able to access the drop.
You will then receive a ‘Safedrop Expired’ message to confirm to you that the safedrop has been deleted and the files are no longer accessible. If the file was uploaded using the dashlet, it will be deleted from the API target folder within the next 2 minutes of the expiry time.
Note: You must be a site manager to invite users.
1. Login and navigate to your site dashboard.
2. Click on the invite user button shown below.
3. Complete the add external users form with the invitee’s details and click ‘Add’.
4. Finally, select the ‘Collaborator’ user role using the drop down menu and click ‘INVITE’.
Note: The users must be invited with the ‘Collaborator’ user role otherwise they will be unable to send Safedrops.
The user will now be sent a Safedrop site invite email containing their username and password and a link to accept the invite.
Powered by BetterDocs
© 2021 OD Consultancy Ltd. OD Consultancy is a UK limited company trading as safedrop & PROJECTFUSION.
OD Consultancy is located in Innovation House, Discovery Park, Sandwich, Kent CT13 9FF.
safedrop is bought to you by the same team that created Projectfusion
You can also reach us on +442077394252